Aad van der Vaart has shaped mathematical statistics through his wide range of contributions including seminal work on empirical processes, likelihood based methods and semiparametric statistics. He is well known for the Ghosal-Ghosh-van der Vaart theory for nonparametric Bayes. In addition, Aad has been contributing to many fields in applied statistics, in particular statistical genetics and genomics. He is author of several excellent books that are standard references and basis of statistics courses worldwide. For his work, Aad received numerous awards and honors.

The conference

The conference will bring together collaborators and leading researchers in theoretical and applied statistics. Topics include nonparametric Bayes, high-dimensional/nonparametric statistics and applications of statistics in the life sciences.

June 17-21

The Netherlands



List of (tentative) speakers

  • Jim Berger (Duke)
  • Lucien Birgé (Sorbonne Université)
  • Peter Bühlmann (ETH Zürich)
  • Emanuel Candes (Stanford)
  • Ismaël Castillo (Sorbonne Université)
  • Sara van de Geer (ETH Zürich)
  • Ed George (Wharton)
  • Subhashis Ghosal (North Carolina State University)
  • Yongdai Kim (Seoul National University)
  • Vladimir Koltchinskii (Georgia Tech)
  • Mark van der Laan (Berkeley)
  • Judith Lok (Harvard)
  • Gabor Lugosi (Barcelona)
  • Susan Murphy (Harvard)
  • Richard Nickl (Cambridge)
  • Andrew Nobel (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill)
  • Sonia Petrone (Bocconi University Milano)
  • Dominique Picard (Paris VII)
  • Jamie Robins (Harvard)
  • Judith Rousseau (Oxford)
  • Alexandre Tsybakov (ENSAE, Paris)
  • Stephen Walker (University of Texas)
  • Larry Wasserman (Carnegie Mellon University)
  • Jon Wellner (University of Washington)
  • Harrison Zhou (Yale)


Because of limited space in the conference venue, we might need to close the registration at some point. If you have not been directly invited by the organizers, send the registration fee to the following account within one month.
Bank name: Rabobank
account number: 0102468869
IBAN: NL78RABO 0102468869
Swiftcode: RABONL2U
in the name of: Universiteit Leiden cs Fac. W&N
mention: SAPnummer 2009008062 and your name
We will regularly check the account and will send you a confirmation email once we received the registration fee. Your name will then appear on the list of participants on the conference webpage. Some young researchers will be given the chance to present a poster. Limit funds to support junior applicants (up to five years after PhD) may be available. If you want to apply please send a CV in a separate email to Botond Szabo (b.t.szabo@math.leidenuniv.nl).

List of participants

Kweku Abraham
Eduard Belitser
Rudolf Beran
James Berger
Joris Bierkens
Kay Bogerd
Peter L. Buehlmann
Cristina Butucea
Juan Juan Cai
Ismael Castillo
Rui Castro
Eric Cator
Annalisa Cerquetti
Gregory (Xiang-Yi) Chen
Alberto Coca
Giulia Cereda
Saskia le Cessie
Minwoo Chae
Arnak Dalalyan
Dennis Dobler
Kevin Duisters
Tim van Erven
Bert Van Es
Gianluca Finocchio
Marta Fiocco
Stefan Franssen
Chao Gao
Fengnan Gao
Elisabeth Gassiat
Sara van de Geer
Edward George
Subhashis Ghoshal
Richard Gill
Matteo Giordano
Jelle Goeman
Piet Groeneboom
Peter Gruenwald
Shota Gugushvili
Mathisca de Gunst
Zijian Guo
Tom Heskes
Rikkert Hindriks
Marc Hoffmann
Arnold Janssen
Geurt Jongbloed
Marianne Jonker
Maarten Kampert
Yongdai Kim
Alisa Kirichenko
Chris Klaassen
Gino Kpogbezan
Willem Kruijer
Ekaterina Krymova
Hans Kuensch
Mark van der Laan
Steffen Lauritzen
Gwenael Leday
Juri Lember
Didong Li
Marie-Colette van Lieshout
Wei Lin
Matthias Loeffler
Judith Lok
Alexander Ly
Marloes Maathuis
Enno Mammen
Ester Mariucci
Catherine Matias
Luminita Mihaela Maxim
Frank van der Meulen
Magnus Muench
Axel Munk
Susan Murphy
Bo Ning
Andrew Nobel
Nurzhan Nurushev
Stephanie van der Pas
Sonia Petrone
Dominique Picard
Natesh Pillai
Richard Post
Igor Pruenster
Hein Putter
Kolyan Ray
Markus Reiss
Mark de Rooij
Etienne Roquain
Jean-Bernard Salomond
Richard Samworth
Moritz Schauer
Johannes Schmidt-Hieber
Catia Scricciolo
Paulo Serra
Tina Nane
Jakob Soehl
Vladimir Spokoiny
Jan van Waaij
Stephen Walker
Sven Wang
Larry Wasserman
Jon Wellner
Mark van de Wiel
Wessel van Wieringen
Sanne Willems
Song Xi
Dong Yan
Yuehan Yang
William Weimin Yoo
Botond Szabo
Harry van Zanten
Harrison Zhou

Event Schedule



It is remarkably easy to get to Leiden by train. Buy a one-way ticket at one of the yellow machines at Schiphol plaza (the entrance hall of the airport, do not get discount fare). Trains run to Leiden every few minutes and the journey takes 15 minutes with an intercity and a couple of minutes more if you take the sprinter. You should get out at Leiden Centraal. The station is within walking distance to the conference venue and the hotels in the city center.

A taxi might cost around 50-70 Euros.

You can send an email to schmidthieberaj@math.leidenuniv.nl


(copyright Lucien Birge)

Conference venue

Lange Mare 48, 2312 GS Leiden